Foto Finish Friday

So today was The Day. I did it. My son is in day care. I cried, he bawled, he begged me not to go, he told me he loved me (ripped my heart out to walk away). And now I’m home with one child, who seems just as lost as me. She suddenly can’t speak as clearly as she has every other time. And I suspect she’s picking fights with the dog, because there’s no one else to fight with.

This is how I feel…

Don’t worry, I know it’s all for the best. He needs to get independent before school starts, yadda yadda. But I keep having wild thoughts like, if we lived in a poor village in India, he wouldn’t be in day care. (But he’d probably have more extended family caring for him). And what’s so great about this Western society where I feel obliged to leave my son in the care of strangers (lovely women yes, but still strangers by and large)? Like I’m lancing a boil?

Still, I bet he’s having way more fun there than he would be here while I work away at the computer.

 

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jentbrave
    Aug 19, 2011 @ 01:59:14

    *hugs*

    Reply

  2. Joanne
    Aug 19, 2011 @ 05:55:40

    I guess there’s never a good time, is there 😦 I hated hated hated taking Kaylee to daycare at just 6mths for 2 days a week, so I am extremely grateful I get maternity leave AND long service leave this time to have a whole year off with bubba #2 🙂

    Reply

    • petajo
      Aug 19, 2011 @ 06:03:25

      I sometimes wonder if it’s a better thing to start them early and let become a natural part of everyday life. Today was Hard. Particularly because he was telling me he was scared and I still left him. Gotta love pooling your time-off for a decent break from work though!! You’re off already aren’t you?

      Reply

  3. Kristy
    Aug 19, 2011 @ 06:54:14

    Big hugs hun!! Every parents goes through it its heart breaking.. n still hurts me every time i drop them off n have to say good bye 😦
    xx

    Reply

  4. Kristy
    Aug 19, 2011 @ 08:36:26

    🙂 yes more to come indeed but u done well its hard the first few times but does get beta n soon enough u wont know ur self..n u will love it 😀 lol xx

    Reply

  5. Mixed Gems
    Aug 26, 2011 @ 10:37:04

    I went Through the same thing 17 months ago when my toddler was 1. It was tough but she eventually settled, has made good friends and learnt a lot. I’m sure yours will too. Hang in there.

    Reply

    • petajo
      Aug 26, 2011 @ 22:20:52

      Thanks Gems, I know it’ll all work out (and it has started to already). But the first time is just so darn hard!..xx

      Reply

  6. Mandy
    Sep 28, 2011 @ 09:02:58

    do what’s right for you, they do know how to make us feel guilty don’t they.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

