Random Words Wednesday

HOLIDAYS always have that delightful way of making me pine for the luxurious life of JUST a Stay-At-Home-Mum. Not working and minding the kids, not trying to make a deadline and putting on tea (or forgetting to put on tea), or trying to draw neat pages while my one-year old swings off my arm (always the arm using the mouse – why is that?), not squinting at the computer screen while I etch out some footballer (and apologise as I outline his crotch) and ignoring that smell that’s obviously a dirty nappy and will result in nasty rash if I don’t get to it soon; not trying to read a laborious budget story that requires full concentration while kids scream in the background.

Being Just A Stay At Home Mum sounds soooo wonderful.

It’s been on my mind. It’s not a matter of money, more a matter of mind. As in: would I lose my mind if I was Just A Stay At Home Mum? Or am I actually losing my mind trying to keep up this dual lifestyle?

And wouldn’t you know it. Wise words came from the handyman today, here to fix the locked bathroom door (which is a WHOLE other post, let me tell you!), who said: In 10 years you won’t be remembering what the newspaper did for you, you’ll be remembering what the kids were doing.

Hmm, nodding sagely. “Thank you Yoda in a fluoro shirt.”

More thinking to do.

PS In trying to find an appropriate photo of a working mother, I uncovered it’s either a woman looking impeccable and just happens to be holding a baby, or a woman who is usually frowning (why, I never!) and maybe pulling her hair. There are none that captures the noise, bedlam and general frustration that compounds an already difficult task. So I took our own!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tracy
    Apr 29, 2011 @ 07:35:03

    Dual life is hard, sometimes I feel a bit like I’m failing at both. I’ll join you on the thinking x

    Reply

  2. Peta
    May 01, 2011 @ 04:24:38

    It’s always nice to have company! 😉

    Reply

  3. Glowless
    May 02, 2011 @ 07:12:56

    I like your photo waaaaay better 😛

    Reply

  4. Peta
    May 02, 2011 @ 22:32:55

    Cheers – if only you could see the masses of paperwork covered in kids scribbles!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

