Make books, not war

BACK when I believed I could do anything, I envisioned myself in a flak jacket, yelling over gunfire into an oversized mic about the instability of *insert country here.

But then I got a job on a newspaper.

So you ditch the microphone for the less glamorous pad and pen, or dictaphone if you can find it (I can’t). That’s okay because while TV and radio are more immediate, newspapers are more thorough and informative.

Then you get sidetracked with the almighty power offered from the “sub hub”, so you forego the pavement-pounding stress of reporting for the different but equally stressful task of pointing out grammatical errrors to uni graduates. The war correspondant gig is fading, just a little. You think you need a change and just as you’re ready for a move, you get offered a free trip to Egypt.

You go for 10 days (back before Mubarak was ticking people off), come back and keep plugging away at your job behind the desk.

Then someone asks you to marry them and suddenly your life isn’t about your job anymore. You get excited about the prospect of babies and give a fond farewell to the image of you with helmet hair and sturdy boots, asking the “tough questions”.

A few years later, and after becoming a Facebook member, you discover the amazing things that others are doing with their lives. Cosmo editors, getting their masters, TV newsreaders, press gallery members, flying around in choppers…

There’s an overwhelming urge to dig out your dictaphone and check it still works, despite the fact you use shorthand almost everywhere.

But instead of a trip to war-torn blah-blah, there is a book launch.

And I must remember that these career choices, though they didn’t take me where I had planned, returned me to the original primary school dream of writing a book. Something that uni, with all its good intentions, steered me away from.

And the Excited, that I was worried I wouldn’t find, is gently creeping up on me.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Glowless
    Feb 19, 2011 @ 12:53:25

    Ten years ago I was studying feminism, was anti-marriage, anti-babies and wanted to go in to politics/lobbying… today I’m a wife, a mother and a makeup artist… how the hell did I get here? Funny where life leads us. Great post 🙂

    Reply

  2. petajo
    Feb 20, 2011 @ 04:37:51

    You’ve undoubtedly made the better choice – mum vs pollie!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

